12 state school districts agree to authorize charter schools

Apr 4, 2013 | Articles, News

A dozen Washington school districts have sent letters to the state Board of Education indicating intent to authorize charter schools starting in 2014, beating a Monday deadline.

The twelve districts include Bellevue, Battle Ground, Eastmont, Highline, Kent, Naselle-Grays River Valley, Peninsula, Port Townsend, Sequim, Spokane, Sunnyside and Tacoma.

“I think it says there’s an opportunity for four-to-six districts to approve it,” said charter school supporter Jana Carlisle from Partnership 4 Learning. “It’s phenomenal.”

Only eight charter schools can be approved by a nine-member panel every year.

Read the full article >